Color Theory and Synesthesia

dsc_0419This past semester (Fall 2016) I took a Color Theory class, and it was INCREDIBLE. It pissed me off, it made me feel amazing, it made me question things… IT. WAS. GREAT! We did several projects, most of them involving…… ACRYLIC PAINTS.. *hiss* But they weren’t bad, these projects actually gave me an appreciation for this medium (at least for a little while.)

One of my favorite projects, I dare to say of all time, was the synesthesia color project. This project was AMAZING. For those of you that don’t know what synesthesia is, it is a neurological phenomenon that occurs when a person experiences multiple senses at the same time. To further simplify the definition, synesthesia is when someone can see music or taste or hear colors. It really is a fascinating phenomenon, and is an incredible concept to pair with art.

During this project we were able to pick practically any kind of instrumental music. We were also presented with a few musical compositions from other students, this is where I chose my music from. I chose a beautifully somber piano piece, and created the above image there. It was made using gesso to build up texture, and painted with acrylics. I wanted to choose an analogous color scheme, so I chose greens, blues, and violets. I can’t rightfully upload the artist’s music on here, but even so, I’m VERY happy with how this piece came out, and it is happily resting on my wall today. It’s one of the few pieces I’m actually happy with.

Leave a comment